The Confident Minimalist

Yves Saint Laurant Mondrian Dresses, 1965 w/ Piet Mondrain Painting

Yves Saint Laurant Mondrian Dresses, 1965
exhibited likely w/ Piet Mondrain Painting

The Confident Minimalist

click on link above

A friend of mine sent me a link to this blog theminimalists.com.     I resented him of course for the implication. Just because I have WELL ORGANIZED boxes of bones, bugs, and other inspirational stuff and a storage unit full of my grandmothers doll collection (which admittedly, she and I collected throughout our tours of the public trash disposal that summer which I must write about some time) does not mean that clearing out my belongings is clearing out my life. However, I have always been attracted to Zen principles, or at least Zen gardens, well really bonsai trees, they’re so little they’ll fit anywhere. Minimalism for me has always been the svelte man in a black tux staring at me from across a room full of a thousand bumping garage band types which I found myself landing into trying to circumnavigate that room. But back to the blog, while the contributors Joshua Fields Millburn & Ryan Nicodemus (both maximum names I might add) aren’t bedecked in tuxedos, indeed, they’ve probably boycotted tuxedos on principle, they do approach minimalism in a modern and palletteable way. They are honest, personable and are not afraid to brave subjects such as happiness, gift giving, money, magic, love and they drive home that minimalists don’t have to take themselves seriously. Humor is encouraged.

I’ve selected one of my favorite essays for your introduction “A Japanese cowboy and an arrogant American walk into a museum“.  And note that they’ve toured, published a book, organized meetups, mentored, and have an archive fat with essays.  Check em out!

Leave a Reply

